Ingredient Must Haves and Where To Buy Them!

1106a_thanksgiving_shopping_list

 

I have spent entire days going from one store to the next to scout out all the deals in food prices. Because I take pride in buying the highest quality of foods, it is hard to stick to a budget. I have realized that it takes a lot of work and experience to find the best prices for the food I’m looking for. For instance I made an antipasto this past week that called for Salami. So I first went to my “go to” store, Stop & Shop and I purchased the Applegate all natural nitrate free salami for $6.99. This yielded about 3 servings and is only 1 out of 12 ingredients I needed to purchase for this meal. Then I went to target for a non-related food visit, but I ended up in the food section because I’m always curious of the different prices. I found that same salami for $3 cheaper. I could have cut that cost in half! Boy did that bother me for DAYS! Anyways, I am going off on a tangent but my point is, it is important to do your research to find the right deals, especially on quality foods. So I figured Id share with you what my pantry looks like and the top ingredients that I could not live without. These ingredients may be a big expense at first but they will last a long time and there are so many great recipes that call for these ingredients so it is totally worth your while.  

Oils:

Coconut oil (BJs)

Olive oil (BJs)

 

Flours and Grains:

Almond flour (Trader Joes $7.99)

Coconut flour (BJS $5.99)

Old fashioned rolled oats-I use Bob Mills (Target $4.99)

Organic panko breadcrumbs-Trader Joes ($3.99)

Brown Rice (Trader Joes)

 

Sweeteners:

Pure maple syrup (BJs $13.99 for 32 oz.)

Agave honey (BJs $7.49)

Cocoa powder (Trader Joes)

 

Nuts & Butters:

Almonds (3 lbs. at BJs $15.99)

Walnuts (3 lbs. at BJs $13.99)

Almond butter (Trader Joes)

 

Fruit:

Bananas-great add in for baked goods even when too ripe to eat

 

Poultry, Meats & Dairy:

Almond Milk

Coconut Milk (BJs)

Eggbeaters

Chicken breast boneless & skinless –Can freeze

Ground turkey (BJs $5-6 for 6 patties)-Can freeze

Nitrate free Bacon (I use Natures Promise brand)

 

Spices & Condiments:

Dijon Mustard

Apple Cider Vinegar

Balsamic Vinegar

Lemon Juice

Hot sauce

Pesto

Basil

Parsley

Garlic powder

Onion powder

Paprika

Cinnamon

Black Pepper

Sea Salt

Baking soda

Baking powder

Leave a Reply

