Motivation Monday: Just Do It!!

Image

This past weekend marked 3 months since I started my journey with Crossfit, and it was this past weekend I competed in my first CrossFit competition at BellCity Crossfit in Bristol. Some of you may be thinking I am crazy for competing only having 3 months of experience with CrossFit. Maybe I was, but I didn’t do it because I thought I would win. I did it because I wanted to put myself out there, get out of my comfort zone and challenge myself physically and mentally. This experience helped me realize that in life there will be opportunities that you will try to convince yourself you aren’t ready for. We all convince ourselves we aren’t ready because we are afraid. We are afraid to fail, afraid of the unknown and scared of challenging our abilities. So here are a few things I’ve learned through this experience..

Don’t be afraid to fail:

I had nightmares leading up to the competition. I was so afraid that I was going to humiliate myself. The one exercise I dreaded the most was “toes to bar”. I was so afraid I wouldn’t be able to complete the workout because I would be stuck on the bar, failing to get my toes up. Right before I began all I could think of was what one of my coaches said..“Have fun, don’t get hurt, and DON’T BE LAST!!” (Thanks for that Brian!) My palms began to sweat and I had a ginormous lump in my throat as I approached the bar. I struggled with every single rep like I feared, but it didn’t affect me like I expected it to. There was so much inspiration and encouragement in that room that failing was no shame. Ironically, I pushed for failure because working till failure just meant that I was giving it my all. The word failure has such a negative connotation but in reality failing just means you kicked ass. Failing means you pushed past your limits, you took that leap of faith and you escaped your comfort zone. No one likes to fail and most people will avoid it all their lives at all costs. If you are afraid to fail you will stay stagnant your whole life. The only way to get better and move forward in life is to fail. There are two end results that come from failure. One, you will learn from it and it will only make you a better and stronger individual. Two, your failure only means you have no regrets because you went for it. Failing is just a process of self-growth. Don’t settle for anything less in life, there is always room to grow, always goals to reach. Bringing me to my next point:

Don’t settle for content:

I thought this competition was an opportunity to try something new and exciting. I could have waited till I was more experienced to do a competition but I felt like adding a little emotion to my life (whether it was feeling like I was going to have a heart attack or pure adrenaline).  Life is too short to live your life being just comfortable. What is the excitement in life if you are just satisfied? You have to find what gets your blood pumping, heart racing and keeps you on your toes. Take risks (of course be smart about it) because it may lead to bigger and better opportunities. Don’t settle and don’t be afraid to stray away from your comfort zone. Opportunities are endless if you just live a little, take chances and put yourself out there. Speaking of..

Put yourself out there:

Despite being a shy person, I joined CrossFit with an open mind, looking to meet new people. By putting myself out there I have found my passion, met so many inspirational people, and established a great group of friends. One decision to try something new has already led me to great new beginnings. I understand that it is scary to put yourself out there. We all like to live in our own little bubble where we feel no threat. We try to validate reasons not to put ourselves out there because we are afraid of the unknown. All you have to do is take one step forward and I promise you will never look back.

Doing this competition represented a step forward in this spontaneous and opportunistic life I want to take on. Don’t hold back on life because you only get one of them. Do what you love and explore the endless opportunities life brings you. Just go for it!!!

“The purpose of life is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experience.” -Roosevelt

Leave a Reply

